Classes

Join us on Zoom every Tuesday at 6pm. Local growers, experts and inspirational locals share their knowledge, wisdom and skills. There is time every class for questions and the discussion continues throughout the week on our fb page: Ashtabula Grows! an online community garden

Tuesday, April 28 at 6pm – Getting started: overview of the program, “Food security and community resilience,” by Sarah Brower.

Tuesday, May 5 – Getting your garden started: Site selection, soil preparation, indoor seed starting, direct sowing, where to get seeds and seed starts – library, nurseries.

Tuesday, May 12 – Mental health check in and exercises

Tuesday, May 19 – Ashtabula Soils and Testing with Suzanne Westlake of Ashtabula Water and Soil Conservation

Tuesday, May 26 – Small container gardening with Alice of Ashtabula Master Gardeners

Tuesday, June 2 – Planting your starts with John Wright of Red Beet Row and Sarah Brower of Harbor Gardens and Holistic Health

Tuesday, June 9 – Growing Herbs with Meghan Davis of Honey Hollow Herbs in Ashtabula

Tuesday, June 16th – Composting with Ashtabula native and worm bins with Suzanne Westlake

Tuesday, June 23 Weeds: Food, Medicine, Tool taught by Leah Wolfe from the Trillium Center

Tuesday, June 30 – Timebanking: help each other with our gardens, share resources and build community using time credits with T Gallo of Harbor Gardens and Holistic Health

Tuesday, July 14 – Hugelkultur mound gardens with Mardy Townsend of Windsor and Emily Hall.

Tuesday, July 21

Tuesday, July 28 – Mental Health check-in with Dia Fleming

Tuesday, Aug 4 – Tomatoes! and tomato pruning with Sarah Brower

Tuesday, Aug 11 – Seed Saving with John Wright of Red Beet Row farm in Jefferson

Tuesday, Aug 18 – Seasonal cooking

Tuesday, Aug 25 – Putting your garden to bed with Ashtabula Master Gardeners

Looking forward to sharing more next season!